(Healthy) Pumpkin Pie with Coconut Whipped Cream

Standard
(Healthy) Pumpkin Pie with Coconut Whipped Cream

For Hallowe’en weekend this year, my sisters and I kept it simple.

We painted pumpkins.

We watched The Shining.

And we ate this pie.

Recipe for the pie can be found here.  This recipe has transformed your typical pumpkin pie into something that’s baaaasically health food.  I made a few changes to the original recipe, like subbing in coconut flakes for the cornmeal in the crust, omitting the arrowroot powder from the filling, and using ground instead of fresh grated ginger.  Still scrumptious.  As for the whipped cream, I used this recipe.  I am still in awe that you can make whipped cream using coconut milk.

Looking for a last-minute pumpkin pie recipe for Thanksgiving?  I think you should make this.  It’s lighter than the usual pumpkin pie (which means more room for stuffing and turkey, yum).

Leave a comment